My Latest Obsession

Standard

I am willing to admit to you all that I am not obsessed with chalk paint. I am in the process of locating anything and everything that isn’t nailed down so that I can give it a new look.  Okay, even the nailed down stuff is fair game.  I am in love love love with this stuff!  It is so easy to use, it gives new life to anything and I find it very gratifying.

I started out with the Annie Sloan chalk paints.  I love their colors and the widely available tutorial videos.  Recently, a friend of mine asked me to paint some items for her lovely shop and she carries the American Chalk Paint Company line.  I have been using this paint for her items.  I like it just as much, to be honest.  The price points are very close as well.

I frantically spend hours on Pinterest searching for ideas on what do I want to tackle next.  The laundry and housework have slipped dramatically, (okay, more like condemn worthy), but boy oh boy, doesn’t that old table look great?!  Here are some of the projects I have already done.

This old table was actually my great grandmother’s.  It just didn’t seem to be of any use to me as it was. I decided to tackle this project and bring something fun to it.  I did a first layer all over of Annie Sloan’s Old White.  Then I taped off the stripes with some painter’s tape.  I then used Annie Sloan’s Coco for the stripes contrasting color.  I found a wonderful French typography from thegraphicsfairy.com that I used the Mod Podge transfer method on.  It wasn’t hard but it didn’t come out as clean as I had hoped.  Still, I sanded over it and gave it a worn look that I ended up being pretty happy with.  I finished by using the Annie Sloan clear wax and then a light coat of Annie Sloan Dark wax.  I will tell you that I prefer to mix the two waxes together.  For me, I feel like I have more control over the dark wax with this method.

big mommas tabletable

Another project that I am really pleased with is this old pew that my friend has at her gift and clothing boutique.  It has sentimental value for her so I was a bit nervous, honestly.  On this project, I used the American Chalk Paint Company paints.  I began with Navajo White as the seat part of the pew.  I painted a pretty thick coat of it.  For the ends, I used Home Plate.  I ended up using two coats of each color.  I mixed together the Home Plate with equal parts of water and gave the seat a nice white wash.  I sanded the edges for a distressed and aged look.  I finished with Annie Sloan’s Clear Wax and then a light layer of Annie Sloan Dark Wax.  There were several customers there while I was finishing the pew and they really went hard with the compliments.  I really like how it turned out, too.

pew before and after

This is really all I have as far as pictures go ….. for now.

Leave a comment